![]() |
| Make a Smilebox collage |
Wednesday, January 6, 2010
Tuesday, January 5, 2010
Our Big Boy!
Monday, January 4, 2010
Daddy's Creation
Everyone who knows Ed knows that he likes to cook! Unlike his wife who cooks only when absolutely necessary and of course, with the Kinders at school. He never ceases to amaze us. He livens up even the most boring meal (well most of the time). I feel bad sometimes as we have 3 food critics. You can usually hear them say "Good Dinner Dad" however, sometimes we hear a little to much from the peanut gallery!
That being said....my own personal Iron Chef has blended Rachel Ray and Bobby Flay. He made for us on a whim Rachel Ray's Maple Mustard Pork Chops with Grilled Apples
He has made the recipe a few times before and it is a great dinner. We especially like the apples. This time he added a little more heat, grilled the apples to perfection and the presentation was flawless....all the while the baby is crying and the boys are just plain hungry!
That being said....my own personal Iron Chef has blended Rachel Ray and Bobby Flay. He made for us on a whim Rachel Ray's Maple Mustard Pork Chops with Grilled Apples
Thanks for cooking Honey!
How many times.....
Adam has learned a few new "tricks" these past few weeks. Is this a sign that the 2's are coming???? Wow...where do I begin? I will first say that Adam is one amazing kid. I am sure that I have said that about all of them at one point or another so I will go on believing that my kids are amazing! Since December 18, 2009 Adam's vocabulary has EXPLODED! He copies everything we say and communicates all of wants and needs no matter what. We don't need to worry about this kid getting a word in edge wise. He must take after his mother. While on vacation he turned into a big boy. Ed and I realized that we do not have a baby anymore! I will admit that I am happy and sad all at the same time. Adam always walks into a room like he owns the place. He is showing good leadership qualities like his father. He is also an amazing mix of both Colby and Nickolas. While he had been saying Nick (plain as day) for awhile now he has just started to say Colby which sounds like (Tob or Toby) every now and then it sounds like Colby. To see the boys beam when Adam calls them by name is so special to me. While in Grass Valley visiting Ed's dad we experienced a new "trick" he can get out of his Pack-n-Play all by himself. I call this the Houdini Effect. He walks out and is so proud of himself and all we can do is laugh. The boys especially think that this is funny. I'll admit that we thought it was funny too the first few times. Since we have been home.....he has hopped out of his crib every night and morning since. He has even mentioned a big boy bed once or twice. Mind you he isn't even 2 yet....

So, to answer How many times.....do I have to put my almost 2 year old to bed in one night??
Well, the answer is 6!! He is now sleeping like a "BABY".
The Mother Of All Messes......
To quote the Cat in the Hat...."The Mother Of All Messes" Well, I had to clean it up today! This morning (our last day of Christmas Vacation) I hopped in the shower for my usual five minute ritual...OK maybe 7. I had asked Colby and Nickolas (Colby specifically) to watch Adam while I was in the shower as now he has learned to open the refrigerator. Well, sometime during those 7 minutes Adam managed to open the refrigerator and pull the eggs out onto the kitchen floor and obviously break them. (I can hear him now saying "I broke it") I am sure that he was smiling too! I know that I should have taken a picture....but hey lets face it we all know what several broken eggs on the kitchen floor looks like. If you don't I would be happy to send Adam over to your house so he could show you. I am sure then it would be funny. My first thought is that why didn't he do this when daddy was home? He's been home for 2 weeks! My second thought was......lesson learned never leave a 7 year old in charge (even though he thinks that he is anyway) My third thought was well do I laugh or do I cry?? To be honest I wanted to do both! The last thing I wanted to do today was clean up the Mother Of All Messes but, as usual I did. OK, as I am writing this I guess that I have a little smirk on my face and I am trying to remember that this is what memories are made of!!! So for now I will embrace the moment and pray to God that he doesn't do it again!!
New Year's Snow Day!
What a way to spend New Year's Day! The Larson's headed to the snow. After spending time with Ed's dad for his birthday and New Year's Eve....before heading home we thought we'd head up to Donner for some snow fun. After sledding and playing for a few hours it was time to head home but not before we stopped at Sizzler (my old stompin' grounds) for a lunch/dinner. It was fun to watch Adam in the snow. He had fun tromping around and eating the snow too. Ed tossed him in the snow to make an Adam angel however, it seems that it has turned him into quite the little devil. (that's another story) Ed and I went sledding a few times together too. It was nice to snuggle up with Ed as we went down the hill. The boys thought that it was funny that mom and dad were sledding together. Although one time we thought we were alone but, Nickolas had tagged along for the ride :) He was holding on to the back of the sled and went down with us (minus the sled). Nickolas really enjoyed rolling and sledding in the snow. Colby was on an expedition and was busy making his own trails to sled down. The boys enjoyed making snow balls and even managed to have a snow ball fight too. That ended with the boys eating the snow balls and laughing. In case you were wondering....we did remind them not to eat yellow snow....that lead to more laughing and giggling all the way to the car. Amazingly enough everyone stayed dry and enjoyed the adventure. It was a fun afternoon with the family! I am sure that we'll be going to the snow again and the older boys may even ski.
Happy New Year 2010
As we start a new decade.....not only do I feel a bit older.....a little wiser.....one thing that I know for sure is that my life with my 3 little guys is CRAZY!! So many things happen in our lives on a daily basis I can not keep track of them all. However, with that said I am going to give it a try. Would I call this a New Year's Resolution???? I'll say NO just in case I break it!!!! LOL
Happy New Year to all of our Friends and Family! 2010 will no doubt be a better year than 2009.
~Cheers~
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



